Inquiry Is Really About Getting Kids To Think

In education circles today, inquiry based learning is gaining popularity and support by teachers all over the world.  Personally I feel there is much value in examining these approaches to learning, which sometimes play second fiddle to traditional notions of school and learning.  I truly feel there is value in many approached to teaching and learning.  But, I am pleased to see the idea that students ‘inquiring’ into topics and ideas that they are personally interested in, taking root in many classrooms and schools in many different jurisdictions.  One doesn’t have to go to far down the inquiry rabbit hole to find a plethora of examples of inquiry based initiatives.  My only fear is that ‘inquiry’ is going to get lost in its own celebrity of sorts!

Let me explain, a number of years ago, I wrote a post called Buzzwords, Jargon or Just What Things are Called in Education in which I cautioned teachers not to throw out or dismiss ‘new ideas’ that come with certain labels.  We can get lost in the language of ideas and lose sight of the idea.  Regardless of the words we use to label ideas, the ideas must still be considered and examined by teachers and policy makers.  While inquiry based teaching increases in popularity, it is important for the pedagogy embedded in the ideas behind the label is not lost because of the label.   In short, I hope inquiry is here to stay and that we continue to teach our students how to learn and how to think.  Inquiry is really about getting kids to think.  It’s All About Thinking!

Last week, I was approached by The Center For Authentic Inquiry for my thoughts and reflections on inquiry-driven teaching and learning.  I appreciated an opportunity to take an hour out of my schedule and reflect on where I have been, where I am and where I see my self going with inquiry; not only for my self as a teacher, but also as a learner and a person.

Highlights of the interview can be found at http://www.authenticinquiry.org or by clicking here.

Thank you to @lindadarco1 for a great conversation!

One comment

  1. Karveena

    Great Post! Makes me excited about inquiry in my own classroom. However, also makes me critically examine my own teaching with a question in mind. Am I doing the best I can to make sure students are constantly thinking and learning through inquiry? What can I do to make sure this happens? Also, one of my personal favorite reflections is “where I have been, where I am and where I see my self going” On Monday, I read a journal entry I made last year on this and its great to look at where I wanted to be then and comparing it to where I am now. Don’t loose that reflection 🙂 Thank you for your post!!
    -Karveena

    Like

Leave a Reply

